Get Adobe Flash player


Dr Jose Casamitjana CSRS Tribute Dinner – Annual Meeting CSRS-US, Diplomat Hotel, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida – Friday December 1st 2017


Dear Friends and colleagues,


Our Sister Society in the USA is planning a Tribute Dinner for our good friend and colleague recently passed away Dr Jose Casamitjana.


All members are invited to join the dinner if travelling and attending the forthcoming CSRS-US Annual Meeting in Ft. Lauderdale Florida November 29th - December 2nd 2017. Please see the attached link to the invitation letter.


On behalf of the CSRS-Europe Board.


Contact: RSVP to | Any questions to: Dr Bruce Darden –


More details >>> here <<<

Mario Boni Award Liaison Officers

claes olerud

Claes Olerud, Uppsala, Sweden

Professor Olerud went to medical school at Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, 1975-1981. He had his specialty training in Orthopedics in Uppsala 1983-1988 (Head: Professor Sven Olerud) and fellowship in Nottingham 1988-1989 (Mr JK Webb).

He is presently a staff member at the spine surgery unit in the department of Orthopedics, Uppsala University Hospital, Uppsala, Sweden, a unit he headed for thirteen years from 1993-2006. The unit is a tertiary referral unit for spine surgery and covers a catchments area of 2 million inhabitants and performs approximately 800 spine operations per year. The unit has an active research profile with one professor and three associate professors in spine surgery.

Professor Olerud defended his thesis on ankle traumatology in 1985 but during the last decades he has focused on spine research. He was appointed Associate Professor at Uppsala University 1987, Professor of Orthopedics at Karolinska Institute, Stockholm 2006, and Professor of Spine Surgery at Uppsala University 2009. He has published 75 peer review articles, tutored seven students to PhD degree and has presented over 200 presentations at international meetings, frequently as an invited guest speaker.

Professor Olerud is a keen educator and has, among other numerous achievements, built up the Swedish Spine Surgery training program. He served as Secretary General for the Cervical Spine Research Society European Section 2000-2004, and was appointed President for the same society 2007-2009. He was the President for the Swedish Spine Surgery Society 2006-2008.