Get Adobe Flash player


Dr Jose Casamitjana CSRS Tribute Dinner – Annual Meeting CSRS-US, Diplomat Hotel, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida – Friday December 1st 2017


Dear Friends and colleagues,


Our Sister Society in the USA is planning a Tribute Dinner for our good friend and colleague recently passed away Dr Jose Casamitjana.


All members are invited to join the dinner if travelling and attending the forthcoming CSRS-US Annual Meeting in Ft. Lauderdale Florida November 29th - December 2nd 2017. Please see the attached link to the invitation letter.


On behalf of the CSRS-Europe Board.


Contact: RSVP to | Any questions to: Dr Bruce Darden –


More details >>> here <<<

Past President


Bengt I Lind, MD. PhD. Gothenburg (Göteborg), Sweden

He studied medicine in Göteborg, Sweden and had his medical degree in 1974, became specialist in orthopedic surgery in 1980 and took his PhD in 1988 on “Unstable Cervical Spine Injuries” at Sahlgrenska University hospital, Göteborg. He started his spine training in beginning of 1980’s and became consultant surgeon at the same hospital in 1988 and later associate professor. He spent a research year at the UCSD, San Diego in the beginning of 90’s and was the head of the department of Orthopedics at the Sahlgrenska Hospital for 6 years and chief of spine. He left the hospital in 2007 to start the “Spine Center Göteborg” together with two spine colleagues.

During the years he has had numerous publications in peer review papers and he has also been active in teaching and was responsible for the resident programme at the department of Orthopedic, Sahlgrenska, for several years. He has supervised several doctorial theses and his main focus in research has been spine and especially degenerative and traumatic conditions of the cervical spine. He is a member of and has been president of the Swedish Spine Society and was an officer on the Swedish spine register board (SweSpine) for two years.

Regularly he has attended and presented papers at the CSRS meeting both in the US and in Europe since 1983 and has been a member of and officer of the e-CSRS board since several years.